Texas ranks second in the list of most populous states in the US, with an estimated population of 29,527,941. You may consider your legal options if you are injured in a vehicle accident. In Texas, some laws dictate how car accidents are handled and the compensation that victims can receive. If you have any legal issues related to compensation, you need to seek immediate advice from an expert car accident attorney like Francis TX Law.
This article discusses these laws and helps you understand your rights as an accident victim.
What Do Car Accidents Laws of Texas Say?
Texas has laws about what happens when you get in a car accident. If someone else is responsible for the accident, they might have to pay for the damage to your vehicle and the medical expenses you have. You might also be able to get money for pain and suffering, which is called compensation.
The laws in Texas are different from other states, so it’s important to know what they are before you get in an accident. Otherwise, you may not be able to get the compensation you deserve.
What Should You Do If You are Involved in a Car Accident?
As per 2021 accident statistics, the fatality rate of car accidents in Texas stands at 1.56 deaths per hundred million vehicle miles traveled. The state recorded 4,489 deaths in vehicle accidents which is 15.2% higher than 2020.
If you are the party in a car accident, call the police. They will create a report of the accident, which will be crucial if you need to file a claim. Then, you should see a doctor to check out and ensure you have no injuries.
Once you’ve done that, you can start thinking about filing a claim. First, you’ll need to gather evidence like police reports and medical records. Then, you can speak to an attorney to help you understand the laws and what you’re entitled to.
Statute of Limitations for Car Accidents Claims in Texas
Don’t wait too long to file a claim. In Texas, you have two years to file a personal injury lawsuit from the accident date. If you wait longer than that, you might not be able to get any compensation at all.
How Much Insurance is Required as Per Texas Laws?
All drivers in Texas must maintain a minimum level of liability insurance to operate a vehicle on public roads legally. The minimum coverage is $30,000 for physical injury per person and $25,000 for property damage per accident. However, these amounts may not be enough to cover the cost of an accident, especially if multiple people are injured or if there is significant property damage.
As a result, many drivers choose to purchase additional insurance coverage above the minimum required amount. While insurance can be expensive, it is crucial to remember that the financial burden of an accident can be even greater. Thus, by carrying adequate insurance coverage, drivers can help protect themselves against the potentially high cost of an accident.
When to Hire an Attorney?
If you’ve been in a car accident, the best thing you can do is educate yourself on the laws and get help from an experienced attorney like Francis TX Law. They can guide you through the process and ensure you get the compensation you deserve.
Since Texas is an at-fault state, you are entitled to compensation if you were not at fault in the accident. However, the other party’s insurance company will not process your claim easily and may present some counter reasons to reduce the compensation amount. Hence, it is always an excellent idea to have an expert auto accident attorney by your side from the start.